Entering Mystery

Songs for me, and particularly the personal writing of songs, are a prophetic thing.  I rarely know why I write what I do–they more or less flow out in built in rivers of word and melody.  To be honest, I’ve never felt like I had much control over them; they are their own creatures and I get the opportunity to give birth to something I did not create and then watch it flower into fullness as a spectator and wonderer.  Maybe that sounds strange, it probably does, however it has left me feeling addicted to the process of creation.  I love writing music, mostly because the songs end up helping me understand something of myself.  Lately I’ve come to imagine that I am never so in touch with existing as a created being as when I myself am creating. It is in those moments that I feel fully present, not running off in this direction or that, not distracted by future worries or past grievances. And, I said, there is something prophetic about them. Sometimes, months later I’ll find myself saying, “Aha! That’s what this song was about.”  Interestingly, it will be an event that wasn’t even developed at the time of write, but fits fully and completely.

That having all been said, a song I wrote in the not too distant past has begun to give definition to this blip of my life.  I thought I’d share it with you:

“Entering Mystery, Your Truth and Your Beauty
To have found You and look for You is the paradox of Love
There must be more than this. There must be more than this.

How can you run the race without running? How can you press on without pressing in?
How can my soul be still until I have exhausted myself on You?

There must be more than this.”

5 Responses

  1. Great word of hope. There must be more than this.

  2. I didn’t realize you write songs, Brittain…. I love the line that our souls can’t be still until we’ve exhausted ourselves on him. I also appreciate the honesty of saying there must be more than this.

  3. Amen, brother.
    There MUST be more.

  4. Brittian,

    We really have entered a Mystery, or become One. I hope all is going well. Please tell your sweet wife “Hello” and that we still think of you with great Love.

    In Him with you,
    Annette in Arlington, TX

  5. I have the same experience with my creating visual art.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

